Best spend management for startups at seed stage
For a 10-person startup, Ramp or Brex covers cards, expenses, and bill pay for free. Spendesk and Procurify only make sense once you need real procurement.
Cards, expenses, and bill pay: what spend management for startups means at 10 people
At 10 people, spend management for startups means three things: a corporate card everyone can use without waiting on finance, a way to submit and approve expenses without a spreadsheet, and a way to pay vendor bills on time. Ramp and Brex both give you all three for $0 per seat. Spendesk and Procurify are built for a different buyer, one that already has purchase requests, multi-step approvals, and a procurement team to run them. A 10-person startup does not have that team yet, and buying for it now is wasted money.
This is the fork in the road: cards-first tools that scale down to zero cost, versus procurement-first tools that assume you already have a process to digitize.
What a 10-person startup needs, and what it doesn't
Strip away the vendor marketing and the list is short:
- A corporate card program that doesn't require a personal guarantee from the founder
- Expense capture that doesn't involve chasing receipts over Slack
- Bill pay so vendor invoices get paid without someone manually writing checks
- Basic accounting sync so the bookkeeper isn't re-entering everything by hand
Nothing on that list requires a purchase-request workflow, a vendor catalog, or a dedicated procurement module. Those show up later, usually once you have a dedicated ops or finance hire and enough purchase volume that unmanaged spend becomes a real risk. Until then, they're overhead. The practical test is whether anyone at the company is currently paid to ask "should we buy this?" before the card gets swiped. If the answer is no, procurement software has nobody to run it.
Ramp vs Brex: the two free options
Both of these are built for the same customer as a 10-person startup, and both start at zero.
| Ramp Free | Brex Essentials | Ramp Plus | Brex Premium | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $0/seat | $0/seat | $15/seat/mo | $12/seat/mo |
| Unlimited cards | Yes | Yes (plus 1 local card program) | Yes | Yes |
| Bill pay | Yes (ACH, card, check, wire) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Accounting sync | Basic automation | Accounting integrations | Advanced (NetSuite, Sage Intacct) | Advanced, customizable ERP/HRIS |
| AI expense coding | No | AI-powered custom rules | Yes | AI-powered compliance audit detection |
| Multi-entity | Not stated on Free | Up to two entities (1 global) | Not stated on Plus tier | Yes, US and international |
| Extra fee | None published | None published | Unpublished platform fee scales with team size | None stated |
Both free tiers cover the actual list above: cards, bill pay, and basic accounting sync. The difference shows up in what each vendor charges to go further. Ramp's $15/seat Plus tier adds AI-driven expense coding and real-time budget tracking, but it also carries a platform fee that Ramp doesn't publish anywhere. You get that number in a sales call. Brex's $12/seat Premium tier is a few dollars cheaper and its pricing page lists no extra platform fee, though Brex now underwrites card limits based on company cash reserves, since it operates as part of Capital One after that acquisition closed in April 2026. A cash-light pre-seed startup might get a thinner card limit from Brex than from Ramp as a result.
For a 10-person team on either free tier, the honest answer is: try both, since neither charges you to do it, and pick based on which finance app already anchors your accounting. If you're on NetSuite or Sage Intacct today, Ramp's advanced integrations sit on the Plus tier. If you want Brex's read on where it's headed, its Brex profile covers the AI-native accounting push it made in 2026, including a real-time Accounting API.
What the billing shape does to a real bill
The shape of the price matters more than the sticker: per-seat billing grows every time you hire, a flat monthly fee like Tipalti's $99 per month does not move when headcount does, and quote-only pricing means you cannot model either number until sales gives it to you.
At $0 per seat, headcount is irrelevant, which is exactly why both free tiers survive a hiring spurt without a budget conversation. The moment you move to Ramp Plus at $15 per seat or Brex Premium at $12 per seat, every new hire with a card becomes a recurring line item, and Ramp's unpublished platform fee is described as scaling with team size, so your bill moves twice for the same growth. That is the difference between a paid tier that costs the same in January and December and one that quietly climbs with recruiting. Flat platform pricing, like Tipalti starting from $99 per month, behaves the opposite way: predictable as you grow, but you pay it in full even in a slow month. Quote-only vendors, Spendesk, Procurify, Coupa, and SAP Ariba, all sit outside that comparison until you book a call.
Why Spendesk and Procurify are the wrong tool at this stage
Spendesk and Procurify both do a real job well. They're built for a later stage, not this one.
Spendesk bundles cards, expenses, invoices, and procurement into one system, but it's priced for European mid-market companies of roughly 50-250 employees, and it doesn't publish a number until you talk to sales. There's no free tier and no free trial. You're paying a fixed platform fee plus per-transaction charges before you've even seen procurement, which a 10-person startup has no use for yet. Multiple reviewers also flag slow support and a drawn-out process for closing an account, which matters more once you're locked into an annual contract than it does on a free card.
Procurify goes further in the same direction. It's built around purchase requests, approvals, vendor catalogs, and purchase orders, the actual mechanics of procurement. That's the right tool once you have a dedicated buyer or ops person managing recurring vendor spend across a real budget hierarchy. At 10 people, you likely approve purchases in a Slack thread, not a formal request workflow, and Procurify has no free trial and no published pricing, so evaluating it costs you a sales call before you know if it's even in budget.
Neither company built its product for a founder trying to get a card into an engineer's hands this week. Read the full breakdown in our Ramp alternatives guide if you want the complete field, including where Spendesk and Procurify do make sense.
Who each tool is wrong for
Every option here has a buyer it actively fails, and naming that buyer is faster than reading seven feature lists. Ramp is wrong for a team that needs a fixed, forecastable software line, because the Plus platform fee is unpublished and only appears in a quote. Brex is wrong for a cash-light company that needs a generous card limit today, since limits are underwritten against cash reserves. Spendesk is wrong for a US-based startup with no procurement process, and wrong for anyone who wants to leave without a contract conversation. Procurify is wrong for a company whose approvals still live in Slack. Tipalti is wrong as a first system if your problem is card spend and receipts rather than paying a long list of suppliers or contractors. Coupa and SAP Ariba are wrong at almost any startup size: they are quote-only enterprise suites for sourcing and supplier management, sold to companies with a procurement function already staffed.
Three signs it's time to leave the free tier
Three signals mean it's time to look past Ramp Free or Brex Essentials:
- You've hired a dedicated finance or ops person who wants AI-assisted expense coding or dynamic approval chains rather than reviewing every card swipe by hand. That's Ramp Plus or Brex Premium territory, not a jump to Spendesk or Procurify.
- You've opened a second legal entity, especially in another country. Brex Premium supports multi-entity spend across US and international entities; Ramp's own tier notes don't specify the same at Plus.
- Purchasing has outgrown a Slack approval, meaning you have real purchase requests, multiple approvers, and a vendor catalog worth managing formally. That's the point where Procurify's purchase-request workflow, or Spendesk's procurement module if you're in Europe, starts paying for itself.
What the free tiers stop covering is the automation layer, not the basics: cards, bill pay, and a basic accounting sync stay free, while AI coding, advanced ERP integrations, and multi-entity structure sit behind the paid tiers. Until one of those three is true, paying for procurement software is paying for a problem you don't have yet.
What to sign up for this week
For a 10-person startup: start on Ramp Free or Brex Essentials. Both cover cards, bill pay, and basic accounting sync at no seat cost. Compare a Ramp Plus quote against Brex Premium once you need AI expense coding or multi-entity support, since the real cost of Ramp Plus depends on an unpublished platform fee you'll only see after asking. Leave Spendesk and Procurify for when procurement, not cards, becomes the bottleneck. For the fuller comparison across the category, including Coupa and Tipalti for the cases that fall outside all four of these, see our Brex alternatives hub.
Keep reading
FAQ
Is Ramp or Brex better for a seed-stage startup?+
Both cover the same core needs for free: unlimited cards, bill pay, and basic accounting sync. Ramp's free plan has no per-user fee and includes invoice OCR; Brex's free Essentials plan includes AI-powered custom rules and up to two entities. Try both since neither charges to do it, and let your existing accounting stack (NetSuite vs. Sage Intacct vs. QuickBooks) or your cash position break the tie, since Brex underwrites card limits against company cash reserves.
Do I need Spendesk or Procurify at 10 employees?+
Almost never. Both are priced and built around procurement workflows: purchase requests, approvals, vendor catalogs, and multi-entity consolidation. Spendesk targets 50-250 employee European companies and Procurify targets mid-market organizations of roughly 50-1,000 employees. Neither publishes pricing or offers a free trial, so evaluating either means a sales call before you even see a number.
What does Ramp's Plus platform fee actually cost?+
Ramp doesn't publish it. The Plus tier is listed at $15 per user per month, but Ramp also charges an additional platform fee that scales with team size, and that number is only revealed during a sales conversation at signup.
Is Brex still an independent company I can sign up with directly?+
Brex still operates as a standalone product you sign up for directly, but it's no longer an independent fintech. Capital One completed its $5.15 billion acquisition of Brex in April 2026, so Brex now runs as part of Capital One.
Sources
Should your product be on this list?
If you build a tool that belongs next to the ones above, submit it. A human reviews every submission. Approved products get their own page with pricing and screenshots, plus a place in the comparisons where they fit. It is free. You sign in with your work email so you can follow the decision, and there is no password to create.
Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report it and we'll check it against the source.