TA

Braintree Review

PayPal's full-stack payment processor for cards, PayPal, Venmo, and local payment methods

Pricing verified July 22, 2026·Visit Braintree ↗
Category
Payment Processing
Starting price
Usage-based
Free option
No
Founded
2007
Vendor
PayPal
Last update
March 2026

Is this your product? Claim this page · Request a change

Looking for a Braintree alternative? See our ranked comparison.→

What is Braintree?

Braintree is PayPal's payment processor for businesses that want one integration to accept cards, PayPal, Venmo, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and local payment methods across 200+ markets and 50+ currencies. You get an SDK for web and mobile, a vault for storing payment methods, and built-in fraud tools, instead of stitching together a gateway plus separate wallet integrations.

The brand now sits fully inside PayPal (the marketing site redirects to paypal.com/us/braintree and the pricing page redirects to a PayPal enterprise fees page), which reflects PayPal folding Braintree into its broader enterprise payments lineup rather than running it as a separate product line.

Pricing is per transaction with no monthly fee and no free tier. Standard cards and wallets run 2.89% + $0.29 per charge, with extra percentage points added for foreign currency or non-US cards, and separate flat fees for chargebacks and ACH returns.

Who it's for

  • ✓ Businesses that need PayPal, Venmo, and card acceptance under one SDK instead of separate integrations
  • ✓ Companies selling internationally that need 50+ currencies and local payment methods out of the box
  • ✓ Teams that already run on PayPal and want the same billing relationship for card processing

Who should look elsewhere

  • ✗ Small merchants who want built-in sales tax calculation and filing, since Braintree only processes payments and does not handle tax
  • ✗ Teams that want phone support, since Braintree's support is email and chat only
  • ✗ Businesses that want transparent published pricing without needing to request a quote for anything beyond the standard rate

Pros

  • + One SDK covers cards, PayPal, Venmo, and major wallets, so you skip building separate integrations
  • + No monthly or setup fee, you only pay per transaction
  • + Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status get a lower card rate (2.19% + $0.29)
  • + Backed by PayPal's fraud and risk infrastructure, useful if you already process high volumes

Cons

  • – Standard card rate (2.89% + $0.29) runs higher than several flat-rate competitors
  • – No phone support, and multiple review sites report slow or unresponsive email support
  • – Reserves, account freezes, and delayed payouts show up repeatedly in customer complaints
  • – Fee transparency has gotten worse since the brand merged into PayPal's site, several pricing details now require you to dig through a PayPal page instead of a dedicated Braintree pricing page
  • – Chargeback Protection and other risk add-ons are quoted as 'starting at' rates, so your real cost depends on a sales conversation

Braintree pricing

Pricing: Partly public.Entry pricing is published. Higher or enterprise tiers are quote-only.
Starting price
Usage-based
Billing model
usage-based
Free option
No
Vs category
Usage-based

What you pay for

You pay per transaction, not a monthly fee: 2.89% + $0.29 for standard card and wallet charges, with higher rates for Venmo, foreign cards, and currency conversion. The core rate is published, but chargeback protection, fraud add-ons, and high-volume interchange-plus deals are all quoted separately, so your real cost depends partly on a conversation with sales.

You pay for what you consume rather than a per-seat fee, so cost scales with usage.

PlanPriceHighlights
StandardCustomCards and digital wallets at 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction · Venmo at 3.49% + $0.49 · ACH at 0.75%, capped at $5.00 · +1% for non-USD currency or cards issued outside the US
Verified nonprofit (501(c)(3))CustomCards and digital wallets at 2.19% + $0.29 per transaction · Same Venmo and ACH rates as standard accounts
High-volume / customCustomInterchange-plus pricing available for established businesses based on model and volume

Braintree has no monthly fee and no free plan. It charges per transaction: standard rate is 2.89% + $0.29 for cards and wallets. Chargebacks cost $15, ACH returns cost $5, and add-ons like Chargeback Protection (0.4% to 0.6% per transaction depending on risk profile) and Fraud Protection Lite ($0.05 per inquiry) are priced separately. Larger merchants can ask for custom interchange-plus rates. Prices confirmed on the PayPal Braintree fees page.

Pricing verified July 22, 2026 · source

How Braintree's pricing compares

Braintree next to its closest alternatives on entry price, billing, and whether pricing is public.

ToolStarting priceBillingFree optionPricing disclosed
BraintreeUsage-basedusage-basedNoPartly public
StripeUsage-basedusage-basedNoPartly public
PaddleCustom / quoteusage-basedNoNot disclosed
PolarFreetieredYesPublic
AdyenCustom / quoteusage-basedNoNot disclosed

Is Braintree still actively developed?

Last significant update: March 2026. Braintree Web SDK 3.138.0 added a createCheckoutWithVaultSession method for PayPal Checkout v6, letting merchants charge and vault a payment method in a single session.

Top Braintree alternatives

See all Braintree alternatives, ranked with a verdict →

Braintree FAQ

Does Braintree have a free plan?+

No. There is no monthly fee, but every transaction is charged a percentage plus a flat fee, starting at 2.89% + $0.29 for standard card and wallet payments.

Is Braintree the same as PayPal now?+

Braintree is owned by PayPal and its marketing and pricing pages now redirect to paypal.com. It still operates as a separate processing product under the PayPal brand.

Does Braintree handle sales tax?+

No. Braintree processes payments only. You need a separate tax tool to calculate, collect, and file sales tax.

What does a chargeback cost on Braintree?+

A standard chargeback costs $15 per dispute. ACH returns and unauthorized disputes cost $5 each.